Main menu
Archives and records authorities and the state archives network
Services
Archival directories
Subject guides and databases
Genealogy/Family history
Education
Professor M.V.Dovnar-Zapolsky

Church Architecture

Overview

Throughout history, the Belarusian people created a highly developed and original architecture. In particular, it is the ecclesiastic architecture in Belarus which demonstrates the skill of its creators & displays the distinctive features & achievements of the architectural and artistic trends of every epoch. The documents on most of the Belarusian church buildings are being preserved in the Belarusian archives. These works of art not only reflect the historical development peculiar to the Belarusian nation, but also show the tolerance of the Belarusian people through the variety of religions which existed simultaneously in different periods within the territory of Belarus, - for example, paganism, Orthodoxy, Catholicism, Uniate Church (Greek Catholic), Protestantism, Islam, and Judaism - all these religious groups were able to practice their faith inside Belarus.

Heathen temples already existed in pre-Christian architecture which were typical of Pagan culture - flat sites with idols, surrounded by a fence and sickle-shaped ditches with fires burning in them. However, the rise of Christianity, coupled with the rapid development of towns and cities, stimulated the formation of new trends in architecture. A new type of building appeared - a stone, cross-shaped temple crowned by domes, built of flat, square bricks - plinths. During the Tenth & Eleventh centuries, the temples in Belarus were, for the most part, being built by master craftsmen imported from Byzantium. The Cathedral of St. Sophia in Polotsk, built between 1044 and 1066, can be considered the earliest of the important churches built in modern Belarus. It was constructed with plinths, according to the so-called "concealed" brickwork technique. This cathedral founded the main principles of the local traditional school, manifested in the central-pyramid composition. Probably these principles followed the influence of local building practice, which had already been formed by the traditional, wooden, folk architecture.

Saviour-Euphrosine's Church In the Twelvth Century, the original Polotsk school of architecture was based on Byzantine architectural traditions, influenced by the architectural forms of the Polotsk Cathedral of St. Sophia. The most prominent church buildings of that time were St. Paraskeva's and SS. Boris and Gleb's at the SS. Boris and Gleb's Monastery in Belchitsy near Polotsk, Saviour-Euphrosine's Church at the Saviour-Euphrosine's Convent in Polotsk (*) and the Church of the Annunciation in Vitebsk(*) SS. Boris and Gleb (Kolozha Church)

The Grodno school of architecture, formed at the same time, is also noted for its originality -see the Lower church, SS. Boris and Gleb (Kolozha Church)(*), and the Assumption of Our Lady church in Grodno. There are many such examples.

And then a new stage in the development of Belarusian architecture took place. From the second half of the Thirteenth & early Fourteenth centuries, architecture & design was determined by the social, economic, political, cultural and religious conditions in which Belarus found itself, being as it now was, a part of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. Timber remained the principle building material, not only used for dwelling houses but also for palaces, castles, temples and monasteries. At the same time, stone church architecture was also being developed. In the Fourteenth & Fifteenth centuries, however, this development retained the distinctive traits of the Eleventh,Twelfth & Thirteenth centuries in Western Russian architecture. But in the new historical conditions, slightly different developments occurred, because of the advances in building techniques and the new understanding of Western European architectural forms - Gothic, Renaissance, and (starting from the late Sixteenth Century) the Baroque as well. In the Fourteenth & Fifteenth centuries, the temples in Belarus differed from the cross-shaped Russian churches in construction, and in most cases they represented the type known as the "hall basilica."

In the late Fifteenth & early Sixteenth centuries, an original type of fortified temple, flanked by four corner turrets, appeared in Belarus. The Church in Synkovichi One of the first temples of this kind was the Cathedral of St. Sophia in Polotsk, rebuilt between 1494 and 1505 into a fortified church. Such fortified temples are also represented by the churches in Synkovichi(*), Zelva District (late Fifteenth & early Sixteenth centuries), and in Murovanka (*), Shchuchin District Grodno Region (between 1516 and 1542). The Church in MurovankaThey show how step by step, Western Russian architectural traditions were being transformed through Gothic and Renaissance influences.

The interaction between local architectural traditions & Byzantine and Western European influence contributed to the formation of a highly original type of Belarusian Gothic. The first Catholic churches in Belarus had the appearance of yet another type of church, which had its origins in the distinctive features of Central European Gothic. The ancient, stone Catholic churches in Belarus had the characteristics of fortresses. Gothic forms prevailed in architecture. Catholic Church of the Trinity in Ishkold Alongside the four-turreted fortress-type churches, there were also several church buildings without turrets, dating back from the late 15th Century and early 16th Century, for example, the Catholic Churches in Vselyub, Novogrudok District Grodno Region, the Catholic Church of the Trinity in Ishkold(*) Baranovichi District Brest Region and SS. Boris and Gleb's Church in Novogrudok.

In the mid-Sixteenth Century, the Protestant churches (Reformed churches or Calvinist chapels) also adapted to defensive needs, started to appear in Belarus due to the spread of Reformation. An example of this type of temple is the Church of the Transfiguration of the Saviour-in Zaslavl, Minsk District, built in the mid-Sixteenth Century as a Calvinist chapel. Reformed churches have a very particular construction. They are unlike Catholic churches and greatly differ from Orthodox temples. However, they do share certain features with Orthodox churches - notably their defensive character. Catholic Church of the Trinity in Chernavchitsy

Renaissance traits increasingly occur in Belarusian architecture in the second half of the Sixteenth Century. The blend of Gothic and Renaissance architecture is exemplified in the Catholic Church of the Trinity in Chernavchitsy(*) Brest District.

In the last quarter of the Sixteenth Century, the first monumental building in the baroque style appeared in Belarus - this was the Jesuit Church in Nesvizh (1587-1593), which inspired the main features of Il Gesu Church in Rome. The architectural forms taken from Italy continued, for a long time, to combine the indigenous architecture with Gothic and Renaissance elements.

The intensity of the religious and political struggles in the first half of the Seventeenth Century, and the rivalry between Catholics, Uniates and Orthodox believers led to the use of highly Baroque architecture and to its synthesis with local building techniques. As a result, a highly original architecture and art of a peculiarly "Belarusian baroque" was formed during the Seventeenth & Eighteenth centuries.

In the period of early baroque (the first half of the 17th Century) the facades of church buildings had a small number of decorative elements. The late Baroque period which flourished from the second half of the Seventeenth Century to the '80s of the Eighteenth Century is characterised by the partition of facades, the introduction of stucco moulding & the use of more elaborate architectural details. Among church buildings of this period is the Cathedral of St. Nicholas in Vitebsk(*) (1716). In the mid-18th Century, rococo decorative motifs were widely used as well. The architectural and artistic movement in the monumental architecture of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania (of which Belarus formed the largest part) is known as "Vilnia baroque". Its features are clearly visible in Uniate church buildings. the Cathedral of St. Sophia in Polotsk For example, the Cathedral of St. Sophia in Polotsk (*) (1738-1760, built on the foundations of the Orthodox church destroyed in the early 18th Century), Basilican monasteries and churches in Berezvechie, Glubokoe District Vitebsk Region (1756-1779), in Boruny, Oshmiany District Grodno Region (1747-1754) and in Tolochin, Vitebsk Region (1769-1779), the Church of the Epiphany and the Exaltation of the Holy Cross Church in Zhirovichi, Slonim District Grodno Region (1769), Resurrection Church in Vitebsk (1772), and more.

The Orthodox temples of the Seventeenth & Eighteenth centuries display a diverse architecture. But both stone and wooden examples share many features of design and composition. Cross-shaped, domed churches were the basic type of monumental Orthodox temples in the Belarus of the Seventeenth & Eighteenth centuries. Alongside them were churches without domes - the so-called basilica. Examples of the earliest buildings of this type are the Church of St. Peter and St. Paul (or St. Catherine's Church) in Minsk, built in 1612.

Synagogues form an important group of church buildings in Belarus. They were mainly being built in the Seventeenth & Eighteenth centuries. Stone synagogues were located in Stary Bykhov (early 17th Century), Pinsk (1640), Slonim (1642), Novogrudok (1648), Stolin (late 17th Century), Kletsk (late 18 th Century), Ivye (the 19th Century), and more. But the construction of wooden synagogues was especially widely developed, for example in Vysokoe, Kamenets District, in Kozhan-Gorodok, Luninets District Brest Region, in Grodno, in Volpa, Ikovysk District, in Sopotskin, Grodno District Grodno Region, in Narovlia, Gomel Region among others.

In many townships of the central and North-Western regions of Belarus there were Tartar mosques. Until 1795 in the territory of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania there were 23 Tartar mosques and 65 Tartar prayer houses. Among the most notable are the mosques of the late Seventeenth - early Twentieth centuries in Liakhovichi, Brest Region; Vidzy, Braslav District Vitebsk Region; Mir, Korelichi District; Novogrudok, Slonim, and Ivie of the Grodno Region; Miadel, Kletsk, Smilovichi, Uzda and Kopyl of the Minsk Region; Minsk(*), and others.

Timber remained the basic building material in the construction of Belarusian towns until the late Nineteenth Century. From the Seventeenth Century, wooden church architecture in Belarus was greatly influenced by the artistic style which prevailed in stone architecture (for example, the belfry in Shereshevo(*), Pruzhany District Brest Region). Two main trends formed in the development of wooden church architecture: the conservative trend aimed at the stable preservation of local traditions and the innovative trend, which reflected the process of implanting the aesthetic conceptions of a more formal style. The developments in wooden architecture were more complex than those of stone architecture, because they encompassed both innovations and the maintenance of an existing tradition. This caused the asynchronous development of stone and wooden architecture and the latter lagged behind concerning the basic official tendencies in church art.

From the late Eighteenth Century, classicism began to develop in Belarussian church architecture. The earliest, most prominent classical building of that epoch was the Church of St. Joseph in Mogilev, built between 1780 and 1798, which was renamed a cathedral by the edict of the Synod in 1802. The Cathedral of St. Joseph represents an example of a church-rotunda, which became widespread in Belarus and gained popularity as one of the best examples of the 18th Century classicism. Another prominent monument of this style is the Cathedral of St. Peter and St. Paul in Gomel (*) (1809-1819). Some buildings of previous epochs were remade in the classical style or were completed with its elements, as for example the Cathedral of St. Mary the Virgin's Immaculate Conception in the village of Udelo, Glubokoe District Vitebsk Region (*).

In the mid-19th Century, particularly in the 1830s and 1840s, the Classical school of architecture began to decline. An example of late Classicism in Belarus is the Cathedral of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in Brest(*) (1856). From this point on, the influence of many different schools can be traced in the architecture of Belarus. First of all, Eclecticism, and then Modern, the style more rationalistic, but which coexisted at the same time with the retrospective and restoration trends in architecture.

On the whole, Restoration popularized architectural and artistic forms of the previous centuries. The temples built in the pseudo-Russian style, eclectic in its essence, can be seen in many localities of Belarus (the Church of St. Vladimir in Chizhevshchina, Zhabinka District Brest Region(*); churches in Kuleshovka and Miloslavichi, Klimovichi District Mogilev Region (*)).

In the 1870s, the Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church sent several groups of architects to Belarus, with the aim of designing and building Orthodox churches. But their main aim was to convert a number of Catholic churches to Orthodox ones. Many monuments of Belarusian church architecture of the Seventeenth & Eighteenth centuries were greatly damaged as a result of this "reconstruction". Catholic Church of St. Simeon and St. Helen (Red Church)

The church architecture of the late 19th Century and early 20th Century is noted for the restoration of the medieval style: Gothic, Romanesque, and "Russian" style. The Neo-Gothic style was preferred when constructing Roman Catholic churches, as for example the Roman Catholic Church of St. Simeon and St. Helen (Red Church) in Minsk (*) (1908-1910). In Orthodox culture the Byzantine style was of great importance, vivid examples of which are the Church of the Exaltation of the Cross at the Saviour-Euphrosine's Convent (1893-1897) in Polotsk and the Church of St. Nicholas (2nd half 19C) in Petrikov, Gomel Region.

Nowadays, many temples are being returned to the believers. This process is being encouraged by the state, which offers assistance with the renovation of church buildings and construction of new Orthodox, Catholic and Protestant churches, as well as mosques.

Our site reviews the documents referring to church architecture in Belarus, which are being preserved at three national archives. Belarusian State Archives of Scientific and Technical Documentation (BGANTD) holds the documents of the Belarusian State Design Institute "Belgosproekt" (fond 3), the regional design institutes in Brest, Vitebsk, Gomel and Grodno, the scientific and production amalgamation "Belrestavratsia" (fond 91) & the architectural and design workshop "Minskarkhproekt" (fond 122). These are the projects for restoration and reconstruction, plans, schemes, photographic positives and negatives. The drawings are performed on tracing and Whatman paper. Many objects were measured & traced in the late 1940s and early 1950s. Described in the summary table are 58 church buildings of the 11th-12th, 15th-20th centuries: 18 Catholic, 39 Orthodox, and 1 mosque. The data are taken from 103 archival files (8 fonds).

Belarusian State Archives-Museum of Literature and Art (BGAMLI) presents the archives from the personal collection of Prof. M. S. Katser, Doctor of Arts (fond 149, inventory 3) and the documents collected by the artist V. N. Telesh (fond 325). Described in the summary table are 94 church buildings of the 11th-12th, 15th-20th centuries: 27 Catholic, 54 Orthodox, 11 synagogues, 2 mosques. The data are taken from 81 files (2 fonds).

Belarusian State Archives of Films, Photographs and Sound Recordings (BGAKFFD) gives information on 48 church buildings of the 11th-12th, 16th-20th centuries: 17 Catholic, and 31 Orthodox. The data are taken from 72 archival files.

In all, BGANTD, BGAMLI and BGAKFFD present here 200 church objects: 62 Catholic, 124 Orthodox, 11 synagogues, and 3 mosques.

The list of the documents listed above is compiled according to the localities of the church buildings (in alphabetical order for the regions and inside each region--for the districts and smaller localities). The available building projects are attached with annotations, finding aids and number of archival sheets.

The survey of documents referring to church buildings in Belarus has been prepared by the archival workers: G. I. Shostak (BGANTD), T. M. Kekeleva (BGAMLI), T. M. Rimashevskaia and N.M. Kovrigina (BGAKFFD).
________________________________
(*) Information on the church is available in the summary table of archival documents (click on the respective region)

New on the site
05 September 2017
The website presents a virtual exhibition of documents to mark the 150th anniversary of the birth of Prof. Mitrofan DOVNAR-ZAPOLSKY More >>
Archival news
23 November 2017
The Department for Archives and Records Management of the Justice Ministry held a board meeting More >>
14 November 2017
The State Archives-Museum of Literature and Art hosts an exhibition on 130th anniversary of writer, political and public figure Tishka GARTNY More >>
03 November 2017
The Belarusian Archives of Scientific and Technical Documentation opens an exhibition, Master Plan of Minsk Restoration 1946 More >>
02 November 2017
The Department for Archives and Records Management of the Justice Ministry held a board meeting More >>
31 October 2017
The 8th Conference of Archives of Slavic Countries, 27th Conference of International Archival Day, 33rd Assembly of Members of the International Institute for Archival Science in Trieste and Maribor More >>

Разделы
Органы архивного дела и делопроизводства и система государственных архивных учреждений
Дзяржаўны кантроль у галіне архіўнай справы і справаводства
Архивное дело
Нормативная база
Архивные справочники
Фондовый каталог государственных архивов Республики Беларусь
Тематические разработки и базы данных
Генеалогия
Археография
Геральдика
Услуги
Административные процедуры
Образование
Журнал «Архивы и делопроизводство»
Каляндар знамянальных і памятных дат па гісторыі Беларусі
Профессор М.В. Довнар-Запольский

Культовое зодчество Беларуси

Обзорная справка

На протяжении своей истории белорусский народ создал высокоразвитую и оригинальную архитектуру. Сохранившиеся сведения о памятниках монументального, в частности, культового зодчества Беларуси (материалы о многих из них имеются в белорусских архивах) свидетельствуют о мастерстве его создателей, демонстрируют отличительные черты архитектурно-художественных течений и достижений своей эпохи. Они также отражают особенности исторического развития белорусских земель и говорят о веротерпимости белорусского народа и многообразии религиозных конфессий, существовавших одновременно или в разные периоды на территории Беларуси (язычество, православие, униатство, католицизм, протестантизм, мусульманство, иудаизм).

В дохристианской архитектуре были распространены капища - специальные площадки с идолами, которые обносили оградами и серпообразными рвами для разжигания огня. С принятием христианства, ставшего наряду с развитием городов первопричиной формирования новых направлений в зодчестве, появился такой тип сооружений как каменный крестово-купольный храм, построенный из тонкого квадратного кирпича - плинфы. В Х-ХI вв. храмы на белорусских землях строили преимущественно мастера, приглашенные из Византии. Первым из числа выдающихся культовых сооружений на территории современной Беларуси можно считать Софийский собор в Полоцке(*), заложенный между 1044 и 1066 гг. Построен он из плинфы в технике с так называемым скрытым рядом. Уже в этом памятнике были заложены основополагающие принципы местной архитектурной школы, проявившиеся в центрично-пирамидальной композиции архитектурных форм. Вероятнее всего, такие принципы появились под воздействием местных строительных традиций, сложившихся еще в деревянном народном зодчестве.

Спасо_Ефросиньевская церковь На основе традиций византийской архитектуры под влиянием форм Полоцкого Софийского собора в ХII в. сформировалась самобытная Полоцкая школа зодчества. Наиболее значительные сооружения представляли Пятницкая и Борисоглебская церкви Бельчицкого Борисоглебского монастыря в пригороде Полоцка, Спасо-Ефросиньевская церковь Полоцкого Спасо-Ефросиньевского монастыря(*), Благовещенская церковь в Витебске(*). Борисоглебская (Каложская) церковь

Отличалась своеобразием и сложившаяся в это время Гродненская школа зодчества: Нижняя, Борисоглебская (Каложская)(*), Пречистенская церкви в Гродно и т.д.

Со второй половины ХIII - начала ХIV в. начался новый этап в развитии белорусского зодчества. Его особенности определялись социально-экономическими, политическими и культурно-религиозными условиями, в которых находилась Беларусь в составе Великого княжества Литовского. Важнейшим и наиболее доступным материалом для строительства оставалось дерево. Из него возводились не только жилые сооружения, но и замки, дворцы, храмы, монастыри. Наряду с этим развивалось и каменное культовое зодчество. В ХIV - XV вв. на территории Беларуси оно сохраняло важнейшие черты зодчества западных земель Руси ХI-ХIII вв. Но в новых исторических условиях получило несколько иное направление развития, что было связано с достижениями техники строительства и определенным переосмыслением форм западноевропейской архитектуры - готики и ренессанса, а начиная с конца ХVI в., и барокко. Храмы Беларуси ХIV-XV вв. отличались от крестово-купольных древнерусских сооружений в конструктивном отношении, а также тем, что в большинстве случаев представляли собой тип зальной базилики.

Церковь в СынковичахВ конце XV - начале XVI в. в Беларуси возникает оригинальный тип оборонного Мурованская церковь храма, фланкированного четырьмя угловыми башнями. Одним из первых оборонных храмов Беларуси стал Софийский собор в Полоцке, перестроенный в 1494 - 1505 гг. в храм - крепость. Культовые сооружения оборонного типа представлены также церквями в Сынковичах(*) Зельвенского района (конец XV - начало XVI в.) и в Мурованке(*) Щучинского района Гродненской области (между 1516 и 1542 гг) , являющих собой пример того, как под влиянием готики и ренессанса постепенно трансформировались традиции зодчества западных земель Руси.

Троицкий костел в ИшкольдиВзаимодействие традиций местного оборонного зодчества с византийским и западноевропейским влиянием способствовало формированию ярко выраженного самобытного характера культового зодчества белорусской готики. Со строительством первых католических храмов в белорусскую архитектуру привнесен еще один тип культового сооружения, вобравший в себя черты центральноевропейской готики. Древнейшие каменные костелы на территории Беларуси имели черты крепостей. В архитектуре преобладали готические формы. Кроме четырехбашенных церквей - крепостей, к белорусской готике относятся несколько безбашенных культовых сооружений конца XV - начала XVI в.: Вселюбский костел во Вселюбе Новогрудского района Гродненской области, Троицкий костел в Ишкольди (*) Барановичского района Бресткой области, Новогрудская Борисоглебская церковь.

В середине XVI в. с распространением Реформации началось активное строительство протестантских храмов (реформатские храмы, или "кальвинские сборы"), также были приспособлены к оборонным нуждам. Показательным примером такого храма являлась Спасо-Преображенская церковь в Заславле Минского района, построенная в середине XVI в. как кальвинский сбор. Реформатские храмы своеобразны по архитектуре. Они не похожи на костелы и значительно отличаются от православных церквей. Сближают их с последними некоторые черты планов и общий оборонный характерТроицкий костел в Чернавчицах

Во второй половине XVI в. в белорусской архитектуре все более начинают проявляться черты ренессанса. Примером сочетания готической и ренессансной архитектуры является Троицкий костел в Чернавчицах(*) Брестского района.

В последней четверти XVI в. в монументальной архитектуре Беларуси появляется первое сооружение в стиле барокко - костел иезуитов в Несвиже (1587-1593 гг.), повторяющий в общих чертах храм Иль Джезу в Риме. Заимствованные из Италии архитектурные формы еще долго сочетались в местном зодчестве с элементами готики и ренессанса.

Обострение религиозно-политической борьбы в первой половине XVII в., соперничество между униатами, католиками и православными вело в сфере культового строительства к использованию наиболее выразительных архитектурных средств барокко и синтезу их с местными строительными приемами. Как результат на протяжении XVII-XVIII вв. сформировалась своеобразная архитектурно-художественная система белорусского барокко, основной базой для развития которого явилась культовая архитектура.

В период раннего барокко (первая половина XVII в.) архитектура фасадов культовых зданий имела небольшой набор декоративных элементов. В эпоху зрелого и позднего барокко (вторая половина XVII - 80-е гг. XVIII в.) отмечается членение фасадов, введение лепнины, архитектурные детали становятся легкими и изящными. Одним из культовых сооружений этого периода является, например, Николаевский собор в Витебске(*) (1716 г.). Широко используются в середине XVIII в. декоративные мотивы рококо. Архитектурно-художественная система позднего барокко в монументальном зодчестве Великого княжества Литовского (основную часть Софийский собор в Полоцкекоторого составляли белорусские земли) получила в искусствоведении название "виленского барокко". Его черты наиболее ярко выразились в культовых сооружениях униатов. Например, Софийский собор в Полоцке(*) (1738 - 1760 гг., построен на фундаменте. разрушенного в начале XVIII века православного храма), церкви и монастыри базилиан в Березвечье Глубокского района Витебской области (1756 - 1779 гг.), Борунах Ошмянского района Гродненской области (1747 - 1754 гг.), Толочине Витебской области (1769 - 1779 гг.), Богоявленская и Крестовоздвиженская церкви в Жировичах Слонимского района Гродненской области (1769 г.), Воскресенская церковь в Витебске (1772 г.) и другие.

Православные храмы XVII-XVIII вв. весьма разнообразны по своей архитектуре, при этом как каменным, так и деревянным их образцам свойственны общие плановые и композиционные решения. Крестово-купольные каменные церкви были основным типом монументальных православных храмов Беларуси XVII -XVIII вв. Наряду с ними строились и церкви бескупольные, представлявшие собой базилику. Наиболее ранней из этого типа построек является Петропавловская, или Екатерининская церковь в Минске, построенная в 1612 г.

Большую группу культовых зданий Беларуси составляют синагоги, строившиеся преимущественно в XVII-XVIII вв. Существовали каменные синагоги в Старом Быхове (начало XVII в), Пинске (1640 г.), Слониме (1642 г.), Новогрудке (1648 г.), Столине (конец XVII в.), Клецке (конец XVIII в.), Ивье (XIX в.) и др. Особенно развито было строительство деревянных синагог (например, в Высоком Каменецкого района, Кожан-Городке Лунинецкого района Брестской области, Гродно, Волпе Волковысского района, Сопоцкине Гродненского района Гродненской области, Наровле Гомельской области и другие).

Во многих местечках центрального и северо-западного регионов Беларуси среди культовых сооружений имелись также татарские мечети. До 1795 г. на территории Великого княжества Литовского их было 23. Кроме того, имелось еще 65 татарских молельных домов. Известны мечети постройки конца XVIII - начала XX в. в Ляховичах Брестской области, Видзах Браславского района Витебской области, Мире Кореличского района, Новогрудке, Слониме, Ивье Гродненской области, Мяделе, Клецке, Смиловичах, Узде, Копыле Минской области, в Минске(*) и другие.

Основным строительным материалом в застройке городов и местечек Беларуси до конца XIX в. было дерево. На развитие монументального культового деревянного зодчества, начиная с XVII в. оказывали значительное влияние художественные стили, господствовавшие в каменной архитектуре (например, при постройке звонницы в Шерешеве(*) Пружанского района Брестской области). В деревянном культовом зодчестве определились две основные тенденции развития: консервативная, связанная с устойчивым сохранением местных традиций, и новаторская, отражавшая процесс укоренения эстетических концепций официальных стилей. Процесс развития форм в деревянном зодчестве был более сложным, чем в каменном, потому что предусматривал не только обновление, но и обращение к наследию. С этим связана также асинхронность развития каменной и деревянной архитектуры, запаздывание в последней тех тенденций, которые определяли официальное культовое искусство своего времени.

С конца XVIII в. в культовом зодчестве Беларуси начинается развитие архитектуры классицизма. Наиболее ранним из значительных сооружений этой эпохи была церковь Иосифа в Могилеве, построенная в 1780-1798 гг. и в 1802 г. указом Синода переименованная в собор. Собор Иосифа, являющий собой образец храма-ротонды, получившего широкое распространение в Беларуси, приобрел известность как один из лучших образцов классицизма XVIII в. Еще один значительный памятник этого направления - Петропавловский собор в Гомеле (*) ( 1809 - 1819 гг.). Некоторые сооружения прежних эпох переделывались в стиле классицизма или же дополнялись его элементами , как, например, костел Непорочного зачатия святой Девы Марии в деревне Удело Глубокского района Витебской области (*).

В 1830-1840-х гг. начался процесс постепенного упадка классической архитектурной школы, резко усилившийся в середине столетия. Памятником архитектуры позднего классицизма является Крестовоздвиженский костел в Бресте(*) (1856 г.). С этого времени в архитектуре Беларуси прослеживается много разных идейно-художественных направлений. Прежде всего это эклектика и позднее модерн, стиль более рационалистический. Вместе с тем модерн сосуществовал с ретроспективными, реставраторскими течениями в архитектуре.

Реставраторство в целом пропагандировало архитектурно-художественные формы прошлых веков. Храмы, построенные в псевдорусском стиле, эклектичном по своей сути, можно встретить во многих населенных пунктах Беларуси (Владимирская церковь в Чижевщине Жабинковского района Брестской области (*), церкви в Кулешовке и Милославичах Климовичского района Могилевской области(*)).

В 1870-х гг. Синодом Русской Православной церкви в Беларусь было направлено несколько групп архитекторов с целью проектирования и строительства православных храмов, но главным образом для перестройки ряда католических костелов под православные церкви. При этой "реконструкции" костелов не все специалисты отнеслись с должным пониманием к существовавшим архитектурно-художественным произведениям. В результате многим памятникам белорусского культового зодчества XVII-XVIII вв. был нанесен значительный художественный ущербКостел святых Симеона и Елены

В культовой архитектуре конца XIX - начала XX в. в художественно-стилистическом отношении возобновлялись исторические средневековые стили: готика, романский, "русский" стиль. Так, при проектировании костелов в основном отдавалось предпочтение неоготике, как, например, при возведении костела святых Симеона и Елены (Красного костела) в Минске (*) (1908-1910 гг.). В православной культовой архитектуре особое место занимал так называемый византийский стиль, характерные образцы его - Крестовоздвиженская церковь Спасо-Ефросиньевского монастыря (1893-1897 гг.) в Полоцке и Николаевская церковь ( 2-я половина XIX в.) в Петрикове Гомельской области.

В последние годы в Беларуси идет процесс возвращения государством верующим многих культовых сооружений, которые активно реставрируются. Кроме того, строятся новые православные, католические и протестантские храмы, а также мечети.

На нашем сайте представлены материалы по культовому зодчеству Беларуси, хранящиеся в трёх национальных архивах. В Белорусском государственном архиве научно-технической документации (БГАНТД) представлены документы Белорусского государственного проектного института "Белгоспроект" (фонд 3), областных проектных институтов Бреста, Витебска, Гомеля, Гродно, научно-производственного объединения "Белреставрация" (фонд 91), архитектурно-проектной мастерской "Минскархпроект" (фонд 122). Это проекты реставрации, реконструкции зданий, обмерные чертежи, планы, схемы, фотографии, фотонегативы. Чертежи выполнены на кальке, ватмане. Обмеры многих объектов проводились в конце 1940-х - начале 1950-х гг. Представлено 58 объектов, из них: католических -- 18, православных -- 39, мечетей -- 1; охвачен период 11-12, 15-20 вв., использовано 8 архивных фондов, 103 архивных дела.

Белорусский государственный архив-музей литературы и искусства (БГАМЛИ) представлен коллекциями из личного фонда доктора искусствоведения, профессора Кацера М. С. (фонд 149, опись 3) и материалами, собранными художником Телешем В. Н. (фонд 325). Описано 94 объекта, из них: католических -- 27, православных -- 54, синагог -- 11, мечетей -- 2; охвачен период 11-12, 15-20 вв., использовано 2 архивных фонда, 81 архивное дело.

Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов (БГАКФФД) представлен 48 объектами, из них: католических -- 17, православных -- 31; охвачен период 11-12, 16-20 вв.; использовано 72 архивных дела.

В общей сложности БГАНДТ, БГАМЛИ и БГАКФФД представлены 200 объектами. Из них: католических -- 62, православных -- 124, синагог -- 11, мечетей -- 3; охвачен период 11-12, 15-20 вв., использовано 10 архивных фондов, 256 архивных дел.

Перечень указанных выше документов составлен по географическому признаку расположения культовых зданий (в алфавитном порядке по областям и внутри раздела - по районам и населенным пунктам). На имеющиеся проекты сооружений приводятся аннотации, указаны поисковые данные, количество листов архивных документов.

Исходный материал по культовому зодчеству Беларуси подготовлен сотрудниками архивов: Шостак Г.И. (БГАНТД), Кекелевой Т. М. (БГАМЛИ), Римашевской Т. М. и Ковригиной Н.М. (БГАКФФД).
________________________________
(*) Информация о постройках имеется в таблицах перечня документов (см. ссылки на области)

Объявления
24 марта 2017 г.
26 мая 2017 г. у Беларускім дзяржаўным архіве-музеі літаратуры і мастацтва адбудуцца XVII Узвышаўскія чытанні Подробнее >>
Новости сайта
Новости отрасли
22 марта 2017 г.
10 марта 2017 г. в Государственном архиве Брестской области состоялся вечер памяти, посвященный бывшему директору архива Анне Васильевне Теребунь Подробнее >>
15 марта 2017 г.
Директором Департамента по архивам и делопроизводству Министерства юстиции Республики Беларусь назначен Виктор Иосифович Кураш Подробнее >>
15 марта 2017 г.
К 100-летию со дня образования белорусской милиции во Дворце Республики была открыта выставка документальных материалов Национального архива Республики Беларусь Подробнее >>
15 марта 2017 г.
Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов и портал TUT.BY представили очередной выпуск совместного проекта "Как это было" Подробнее >>
09 марта 2017 г.
К 100-летию со дня рождения скульптора Сергея Селиханова Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов и портал TUT.BY представили очередной выпуск совместного проекта "Это мы" Подробнее >>