{"id":1020637,"date":"2025-07-09T16:57:25","date_gmt":"2025-07-09T13:57:25","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/?p=1020637"},"modified":"2025-07-11T13:13:49","modified_gmt":"2025-07-11T10:13:49","slug":"city-over-the-vilija-archivists-of-the-zonal-state-archives-in-molodechno-have-prepared-a-virtual-exhibition-dedicated-to-the-history-of-the-city-of-vileika","status":"publish","type":"post","link":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/news\/1020637","title":{"rendered":"City over the Vilija: archivists of the Zonal State Archives in Molodechno have prepared a virtual exhibition dedicated to the history of the city of Vileika"},"content":{"rendered":"<p>Employees of <strong>the Zonal State Archives in Molodechno<\/strong> have prepared a virtual exhibition dedicated to the history and development of Vileika. Archivists tell about this in the exhibition through documents.<\/p>\n<p>A city, like a person, has its own name, its own biography, its own face. It is born, grows, reaches its peak&#8230; Vileika is no exception: this region has a glorious history, a rich cultural heritage. Today, the date of the city&#8217;s foundation is considered to be 1460, when the first written mention of the settlement is found. On May 14, 1795, by decree of Empress Catherine II, the town of Vileika became a city &#8211; the center of the Vileika district of the Minsk province, since 1842 part of the Vileika.<\/p>\n<p>On February 2, 1796, the coat of arms of Vileika, a district town of the Russian Empire, was approved.<\/p>\n<p>By the beginning of the 20th century, the planning structure of the city, which has survived to this day, gradually took shape. Careful improvement of the streets and good landscaping created a unique chamber interior of a small cozy town.<\/p>\n<p>In 1940, Vileika became the center of the Vileika region, but the almost complete destruction of the city in 1944 forced the center to be moved to Molodechno, and Vileika itself began to gradually recover, as evidenced by archival documents.<\/p>\n<p>On July 5, 1946, the Vileika district was formed (today it is one of the largest districts of the Minsk region).<\/p>\n<p>There are 13 enterprises operating in the city, among which the most notable is OJSC Zenit-BelOMO, a city-forming enterprise that gave the world the famous Zenit cameras. Vileika region has amazingly beautiful nature. The real pearl of this region can rightfully be considered the Vileika reservoir \u2013 the largest artificial reservoir of the Republic of Belarus and part of the Vileika-Minsk water system. It was filled with the waters of the Viliya River, after which the city is named.<\/p>\n<p><a href=\"https:\/\/www.archives.gov.by\/wp-content\/uploads\/files\/goroda_Belarusi\/zgamol_gorod-nad-viliey.pdf\" target=\"_blank\" rel=\"noopener\">Exhibition \u00ab<strong>City over Viliya. From the history of Vileika\u00bb<\/strong><\/a><br \/>\n<img decoding=\"async\" src=\"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-content\/uploads\/sites\/2\/2025\/07\/1.jpg\" alt=\"\" title=\"\" id=\"media-1020657\" class=\"wp-image-1020657 alignnone size-full\" width=\"60%\" \/><\/p>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Employees of the Zonal State Archives in Molodechno have prepared a virtual exhibition dedicated to the history and development of Vileika. Archivists tell about this in the exhibition through documents&#8230;.<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":1,"featured_media":0,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","sticky":false,"template":"","format":"standard","meta":{"footnotes":""},"categories":[3],"tags":[],"class_list":["post-1020637","post","type-post","status-publish","format-standard","hentry","category-sitenews"],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/1020637"}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/post"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/1"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=1020637"}],"version-history":[{"count":1,"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/1020637\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":1020658,"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/1020637\/revisions\/1020658"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=1020637"}],"wp:term":[{"taxonomy":"category","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/categories?post=1020637"},{"taxonomy":"post_tag","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/archives.gov.by\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/tags?post=1020637"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}