Main menu
Archives and records authorities and the state archives network
Services
Archival directories
Subject guides and databases
Genealogy/Family history
Education
The First World War in Belarus

National Historical Archives of Belarus in Minsk

Description of holdings

Amount of holdings: 3 161 fonds, 23 collections in electronic media, 1 020 407 items

Chronological scope: the 14th—early 20th centuries, parish vital records before the early 1940s

Geographical coverage:

  • Grand Duchy of Lithuania
  • Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (Rzeczpospolita)
  • Belarusian, Vitebsk, Minsk, Polotsk and Mogilev gubernias (provinces) of the Russian Empire

Historical records held in the Archives can be divided into two parts:

  • for the whole territory of present-day Belarus—records of the 14th - late18th centuries
  • for the Vitebsk, Minsk, and Mogilev provinces of the Russian Empire—records of the late 18th - early 20th centuries

Genealogical records held in the Archives cover the following regions of Belarus:
  • the whole territory of Belarus within its historical boundaries—records of the 16th - late 18th centuries
  • Vitebsk, Minsk and Mogilev provinces within their historical boundaries—records of the late 18th - early 20th centuries 
  • Vileika, Disna and Oshmiany districts of the Vilno (Vilnius) province (within the boundaries of present-day Minsk Region)—records of the late 19th - early 20th centuries; Sventsiany district—records of the late 18th - early 20th centuries.
  • Brest, Volkovysk, Kobrin, Pruzhany and Slonim districts of the Grodno province (within the boundaries of present-day Brest Region)—records of the late 19th - early 20th centuries  

NOTE: Most of the records for the Vileika, Disna, Lida, Oshmiany, and Sventsiany districts of the Vilno (Vilnius) province--until early 20th century--are held at the Central State Historical Archives of Lithuania: 10, Gerosios Vilties, Vilnius, 2009, Lietuva; for the Grodno province--at the National Historical Archives of Belarus in Grodno: 2, Tizengauza Sq., 230023, Grodno, Belarus.

Contents:

The National Historical Archives of Belarus contains records initially held in the judicial archives of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Polish-Lithuanian Commonwealth (Rzeczpospolita), and after the inclusion of Belarus into the Russian Empire in the archives of civil courts, magistrats (town councils), town halls, district courts, private individuals, and also in the Vilnius Early Records Archives and the Vitebsk Early Records Archives.

The Archives holds unique records of national heritage, which illustrate the political, social, economic, and cultural history of the Belarusian people. The earliest of them are the original parchments of the 14th - 17th centuries, written in ancient Belarusian, Polish and Latin languages. These are records of grants from Polish kings and grand princes of Lithuania & charters of diplomatic and domestic significance. These include the charter of princes Fedor and Konstantin Koriatovich of June 20, 1391 confirming the right of the landlord Grinko to the possession of the town of Sokolets; deed of purchase between the royal nobleman V. N. Branets and O. V. Kostiushkevich for part of land on the estates of Mochul, Ramel and Perekhodichi in the Pinsk district, dated May 7, 1514; deed of purchase of the estate of Glusk from Prince Chartoryiski to the Slonim Marshal Aleksander Polubinski, dated June 4, 1626 (signed, among others, by an ancestor of Fedor Dostoevski); charters of the Magdeburg Right granted to the towns of Nesvizh (1586), Mozyr (1680), and others.

Of especial value are the Universal by Bogdan Khmelnitski (Chmielnicki) of May 7, 1656, conferring the right of free trade in Ukraine on the merchants of Slutsk; the 1416-44 register of deeds from the local court in Drogichin; law materials of town councils, local courts, and the Crown Tribunal in the Rzeczpospolita, treasury courts in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania and the Jesuit college in Vitebsk.

An important source for the history of the Belarusian village of the 16th - 1st half 19th centuries are the inventories of the state and landowners' estates.

The Archives retains records of the provincial chancelleries, provincial administration, chancelleries of civil governors, town councils, municipal administration, provincial commissions for construction, provincial administration on the industrial and mining affairs, provincial committees for landowners' inventories.

Among the archives' records are the family collections of the dukes Radziwill, Drutski-Lubetski, Lubomirski and Paskevich-Erivanski, the counts Pliater-Ziberg and Rumiantsev-Zadunaiski, etc.

The fonds of the educational, cultural & medical institutions, religious communities, public & charitable organizations contain documents on the opening of the teachers' colleges in Vitebsk, Minsk and Mogilev, agricultural educational institutions in Gorki, teachers' seminaries, male and female schools in Bobruisk, Gomel, Polotsk and Rogachev; on the creation and work of the Minsk Municipal Theatre (now the Ianka Kupala National Academic Theatre), libraries, hospitals, & drugstores; on the creation of the Belarusian Free Economic Society, Doctors' Society, Society of Fine Arts, Society of Animals Protection, the provincial trustee boards of the orphanages, etc.

The archives' records on the history of architectural monuments have been used in the design projects for the reconstruction of St. Sophia Cathedral in Polotsk, Mir Castle, the Palace of Oginski in Zalesie, the historical centres in Brest, Vitebsk, Minsk, Mogilev, Zaslavl, Nesvizh, Polotsk, and Novogrudok, as well as for numerous dwelling houses and industrial buildings.

The Archives also has documents concerning the construction and abolition of Minsk Cathedral, Belarusian abbeys, synagogues, Orthodox and Catholic churches, as well as inventories of their property.

There are documents relating to Andrei Tadeush Bonaventura Kostiushko (Tadeusz Kosciuszko, 1746-1817), native of Belarus, the leader of the 1794 revolt in Poland, Belarus and Lithuania, who also fought for independence of the peoples of North America and Eastern Europe.

There are documents relating to the well-known public figures, writers, painters, and composers (P. Pestel, K. Lyshchinski, V. Ignatovski, A. Mitskevich, I. Turgenev, V. Belinski, M. Bogdanovich, Ia. Kolos, Ia. Kupala, M. Lynkov, I. Repin, M. Chagal, M. Oginski, S. Moniushko, M. Glinka, etc.).

The Archives also retains documents on the history of wars: Northern War of 1700-1721, War of 1812, Russo-Turkish War of 1877-1878, Russo-Japanese War of 1904-1905, First World War of 1914-1918, as well as the revolutionary events of the years 1905 and 1917.

A large complex of documents relate to the national-liberation, workers' and peasants' movement in Belarus. In particular, there are documents relating to one of the largest revolts of the Belarusian peasants in the Krichev starostvo in 1743-1744 under the leadership of Vasily Vashchila; the file cases narrating about the formation and combats of the insurgent groups in the 1830-1831 and 1863-1864 uprisings, the arrests, searches, punishment of the participants, interrogation proceedings, lists of the insurgents, etc.

In addition, the Archives holds documents on genealogy and heraldry of the noble families; documents on the births, marriages and deaths of Belarusian citizens and foreigners who come from the territory of the former Vitebsk, Minsk and Mogilev provinces.

New on the site
27 August 2014
The First World War in Belarus page has been posted in the Russian version of the website More >>
Archival news
11 November 2014
24th Conference of International Archival Day in Trieste, Italy More >>
03 November 2014
Inauguration of the new building for the National Historical Archives in Grodno More >>
21 October 2014
International conference The First World War in Historical Fates of Europe was held in Vileika, Belarus More >>
15 October 2014
Director at the Belarusian Department for Archives and Records Management took part in the events of Russia’s Federal Archival Agency More >>

Разделы
Органы архивного дела и делопроизводства и система государственных архивных учреждений
Дзяржаўны кантроль у галіне архіўнай справы і справаводства
Архивное дело
Нормативная база
Архивные справочники
Фондовый каталог государственных архивов Республики Беларусь
Тематические разработки и базы данных
Генеалогия
Археография
Геральдика
Услуги
Административные процедуры
Образование
Журнал «Архивы и делопроизводство»
Каляндар знамянальных і памятных дат па гісторыі Беларусі
Профессор М.В. Довнар-Запольский

Государственное учреждение «Национальный исторический архив Беларуси» (НИАБ)

Характеристика фондов


Характеристика фондов

Количество фондов: 3 158 фондов, 23 коллекции микрофотокопий, 1 021 954 единицы хранения

Хронологический период: с ХIV до начала XX вв., метрические книги – до начала 40-х гг. XX в.

Территориальный охват:

  • Браславский, Брестский, Витебский, Волковысский, Гродненский, Лидский, Минский, Мозырский, Новогрудский, Оршанский, Ошмянский, Пинский, Речицкий, Слонимский поветы, Мстиславское и Полоцкое воеводства Великого Княжества Литовского, Подляшское воеводство Королевства Польского
  • Белорусская, Витебская, Минская, Могилевская и Полоцкая губернии Российской империи

Основной комплекс документов НИАБ состоит из двух частей:

  • По всей территории Беларуси (в современных границах) - документы за ХIV - конец ХVIII в.
  • По территориям Витебской, Минской и Могилевской губернии Российский империи - документы конца ХVIII - начала XX в.
(Примечание: документы (большая часть) по Вилейскому, Дисненскому, Лидскому, Ошмянскому и Свенцянскому уездам Виленской губернии (до начала XX в.) находятся на хранении в Центральном государственном историческом архиве Литвы по адресу: ул. Гяросёс Вильтес, 10, Вильнюс 2009, Литва, а по Гродненской губернии - в Национальном историческом архиве Беларуси в г. Гродно по адресу: пл. Тизенгауза, 2, г. Гродно, 230023, Беларусь)

Основной комплекс документов НИАБ, содержащих сведения генеалогического характера, включает следующие регионы Беларуси:

  • По всей территории Беларуси (в ее исторических границах) - документы ХVI - конца ХVIII в.
  • По Витебской, Минской и Могилевской губерниям  - документы конца ХVIII - начала XX в.
  • По Вилейскому, Дисненскому, Ошмянскому и Свенцянскому уездам Виленской губернии (в границах современной Минской области) - документы конца ХIХ - начала XX вв.
     
Состав фондов

Фонды Национального исторического архива Беларуси сформированы из документов, ранее хранившихся в архивах судебных учреждений Великого княжества Литовского, Речи Посполитой, а после включения территории Беларуси в состав Российской империи – в палатах гражданских судов, архивных магистратов, ратуш, уездных судов и частных лиц, в Виленском архиве древних актов и Витебском архиве древних актовых книг.

В архиве хранятся уникальные памятники национальной культуры. Это документы о политической, социально-экономической и культурной истории белорусского народа. Наиболее ранние из них – подлинные пергаментные грамоты XIV–XVII вв., написанные на старобелорусском, старопольском и латинском языках и представляющие собой дарственные, жалованные великих князей литовских, польских королей, грамоты дипломатического и внутригосударственного значения. Среди этих документов Подтвердительный привелей князей Федора и Константина Корьятовичей от 20 июня 1391 г. пану Гринко на город Соколец за верную службу; Купчая грамота королевского дворянина В. Н. Бранца О. В. Костюшкевичу на часть земель в имениях Мочуль, Рамель, Переходичи Пинского повета от 7 мая 1514 г.; Купчая крепость от 4 июня 1626 г. на имение Глуск, проданное князем Николаем Чарторыйским Слонимскому маршалку Александру Полубинскому (под текстом среди других подпись одного из предков Федора Достоевского); привилеи на Магдебургское право городам Несвижу (1586 г.), Мозырю (1680 г.) и др.

Особую ценность представляют: Универсал Богдана Хмельницкого от 7 мая 1656 г. о предоставлении купцам г. Слуцка права свободной торговли на территории Украины; актовая книга Дрогичинского земского суда 1416–1444 гг., актовые материалы магистратов; гродских, земских, каптуровых, подкоморских, компромиссарских, конфедератских и других судов, коронного трибунала Речи Посполитой; Главного, скарбового трибуналов Великого княжества Литовского; Витебской иезуитской коллегии.

Важным источником по истории белорусской деревни XVI – первой половины XIX в. являются инвентари помещичьих и государственных имений.

В архиве хранятся документы губернских канцелярий, губернских правлений, канцелярии гражданских губернаторов, городских дум и управ, губернских строительных комиссий, губернских по фабричным и горнозаводским делам присутствий, губернских комитетов для рассмотрения и составления инвентарей помещичьих имений.

Среди документов архива – фамильные фонды князей Радзивиллов, Друцких-Любецких, Любомирских, Паскевича-Эриванского, графов Плятер-Зибергов, Румянцева-Задунайского и др.

В архиве имеются фонды учреждений народного образования, здравоохранения, культурно-просветительных и религиозных учреждений, общественных и благотворительных организаций, которые содержат документы об открытии Витебского,

Минского, Могилевского учительских институтов, Горецких сельскохозяйственных учебных заведений, Бобруйской, Гомельской, Полоцкой, Рогачевской учительских семинарий, мужских и женских гимназий, реальных училищ; о строительстве, открытии и деятельности больниц, аптек; библиотек, Минского городского театра (ныне Национальный академический театр имени Янки Купалы); о создании белорусского вольного экономического общества, минских обществ врачей, изящных искусств, покровительства животным, губернских попечительств детских приютов и т.д.

Благодаря документам архива, содержащим сведения по архитектурным сооружениям, разработана проектная документация по восстановлению памятников архитектуры (Софийского собора в Полоцке, замка в Мире, дворца Огинского в Залесье, исторических центров Бреста, Витебска, Минска, Могилёва, Заславля, Несвижа , Полоцка, Новогрудка), а также различных жилых домов, промышленных зданий.

В архиве имеются документы о строительстве и упразднении Минского кафедрального собора, церквей, костелов, монастырей, синагог Беларуси, инвентарные описания их имущества.

Имеются в архиве и документы, относящиеся к выходцу из Беларуси Андрею Тадеушу Бонавентуре Костюшко (1746–1817 гг.) – борцу за свободу народов Северо-Американских Штатов и Восточной Европы, руководителю восстания 1794 г. в Польше, Беларуси и Литве.

В фондах архива отложились документы, касающиеся известных политических деятелей, учёных, писателей, художников, композиторов (П. Пестеля, К. Лыщинского, В. Игнатовского, А. Мицкевича, И. Тургенева, В. Белинского, М. Богдановича, Я. Колоса, Я. Купалы, М. Лынькова, И. Репина, М. Шагала, М. Огинского, С. Монюшко, М. Глинки, др.).

Сохранились документы по истории войн: Северной (1700–1721 гг.), Отечественной 1812 г., Русско-турецкой (1877–1878 гг.), Русско-японской (1904–1905 гг.), Первой мировой (1914–1918гг.), а также о восстании декабристов 1825 г. и о революционных событиях 1905 и 1917 гг.

Большое количество архивных материалов посвящено национально-освободительному, рабочему и аграрному движению в Беларуси, в частности, имеются документы об одном из крупнейших восстаний белорусских крестьян в Кричевском старостве в 1743–1744 гг. под руководством Василия Ващилы; дела, рассказывающие о формировании и боевых действиях повстанческих отрядов во время восстаний 1830–1831 гг., 1863–1864 гг., арестах, обысках, наказаниях их участников, протоколы допросов, списки участников восстаний и др.

В архиве хранятся документы о семейных и родственных связях (по генеалогии семей, истории и геральдике дворянских родов); документы о рождении, бракосочетании, смерти жителей Беларуси и иностранных граждан, ведущих родословные с территории бывших Витебской, Минской, Могилевской губерний.

Новости сайта
14 августа 2017 г.
На сайте открыт доступ к просмотру эталонных изображений и описаний гербов и флагов Подробнее >>
23 мая 2017 г.
На сайте начала работать поисковая система “Дапаможнік” Подробнее >>
Новости отрасли
24 ноября 2017 г.
В Белорусском научно-исследовательском институте документоведения и архивного дела переиздана Инструкция по делопроизводству в государственных органах, иных организациях Подробнее >>
21 ноября 2017 г.
21 ноября 2017 г. состоялось заседание коллегии Департамента по архивам и делопроизводству Министерства юстиции Республики Беларусь Подробнее >>
16 ноября 2017 г.
К 70-летию народного артиста Беларуси Анатолия Ярмоленко Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов и TUT.BY представили очередной выпуск совместного проекта "Это мы" Подробнее >>
14 ноября 2017 г.
10 лістапада 2017 г. у Беларускім дзяржаўным архіве-музеі літаратуры і мастацтва адбылося адкрыццё выставы “Пясняр працы і змагання” да 130-годдзя Цішкі Гартнага Подробнее >>
13 ноября 2017 г.
Ко дню работников гражданской авиации Беларуси Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов и TUT.BY представили очередной выпуск совместного проекта "Как это было" Подробнее >>