Main menu
Archives and records authorities and the state archives network
Services
Archival directories
Subject guides and databases
Genealogy/Family history
Education
Nation-State Formation in Belarus in 1918-1920s
Home Genealogy/Family history Genealogy of the nobility

Genealogy of the nobility

Information on the genealogy of the Belarusian nobility and gentry (shliakhta) can be found in a number of general historical sources: parish registers, census records (gentry was included in those sources until 1816), the registers of municipal and Zemstvo courts of the Rech Pospolita, records of judicial institutions of the Russian Empire and other sources. Moreover, there are special historical sources on genealogy. They are kept in the fonds of the Noble Deputies Assemblies (which existed in each province) and in the fonds of provincial and uyezd marshals of the nobility.
The procedure of recognition and confirmation (approval) of shliakhta families of the former Rech Pospolita as the noble families of the Russian Empire took place at the nobiliary deputies' meetings. Information on each family (which had to pass through this confirmation procedure) is reflected in the protocols of the Commission on Confirmation, in the family history records, and records on the nobility of the family.

Protocols of the Commission on Confirmation were made as soon as  families proved their nobility. These protocols are subdivided into Protocols on Confirmation and Protocols on Adding. Protocols on Confirmation were made in the case of the first approval of the noble origin of the family (in the territory of the Russian Empire). They usually contain the following information: place of birth, place of residence of the ancestors, names of the first representatives of the family and their descendants with definition of their relationship (in the form of a genealogical tree), the name and description of the family arms, records on the property and land owning (the supported records on possession of manors or so-called mayentoks), on the holding of positions and others proofs of the nobility. Protocols on Adding contain information not only about the joining of  individuals to the already recognized noble families, but also for all children and those who did not get into the "first recognition". Protocols were made  annually and were kept in the archives of the Noble Assemblies.

Family history records were compiled simultaneously with  Protocols on Confirmation. Originally this was done annually, but  later repeated every few years. The noble families were placed in the alphabetical order. Each family was represented in the form of a genealogical tree with a picture of the family arms. Near each branch of the tree, the generation description was given with  reference to the records which proved  the nobility. Each history was written in  triplicate. Originals were kept in the fonds of the provincial Noble Assembly, the first copy - in the fonds of the provincial management board, the second copy was transferred to the Heraldry Department Archives in Saint  Petersburg.

Records on the nobility of a family (or of a person) include documents which can prove the nobility, correspondence on the problems of submitting, registering and correcting these documents, checking of proofs, confirming and adopting the whole family in nobility, as well as adding individual persons and then adding other representatives of the family. The following records were usually considered to be the proofs: originals or copies of the extracts from registers, census records, parish registers,  lists of families, and other documents. Usually, files contain copies of the protocols on confirmation and protocols on adding, Senate edicts, pictures of arms, genealogical schemes, any other information in existence from the moment the application for recognition was submitted, (as a rule, since1820 when people began to submit such applications in large numbers until 1917 when the last information on recognition was received). Archives of the Noble Deputies Assemblies preserved all files on the nobility. They were kept there so as both to confirm the nobility of families and for those persons who were transferred to the tax estates. The second copy of files of the confirmed noble families was preserved in the Archives of Heraldry department in Saint  Petersburg.

The fonds of the Noble Deputies Assemblies which existed in the territory of the contemporary Belarus are kept in the following archives:

  • Vitebsk province - in the National Historical Archives of the Republic of Belarus in Minsk (fond 2512). This fond includes 1130 files. The protocols and family history records have been preserved partly (approximately a half of the original number). The files on the nobility of families are totally lost. The fond of the provincial marshal of the nobility (fond 2626) contains electoral lists on elections to the different nobiliary institutions and some other records.
  • Grodno province - in the National Historical Archives of Belarus in Grodno (fond 332). This fond is almost totally lost. It contains 45 files including records on the history of only two families for 1875  (letters B, C, G). The protocols of Commissions on Confirmation and files on the nobility are lost.
  • Minsk province - in the National Historical Archives of the Republic of Belarus in Minsk (fond 319). This fond contains 5351 files including the protocols for practically all the years and the files on the nobility of about 4000 families. The family history records are lost. The fond of the provincial noble marshal office (fond 320) contains 1, 002 files including electoral lists, and other information.
  • Mogilev province - in the National Archives of the Republic of Belarus in Minsk (fond 2066). This fond is almost totally lost. There are just 58 files, including several protocols of the Commission on Confirmation.
Announcements
05 September 2018
A professional contest “The Best Archivist of Belarus” is held in Belarus in 2018 More >>
23 July 2018
BGAMLI holds the Sixteenth Archival Readings dedicated to the 125th anniversary of Belarusian actress, pedagogue, memoirist Paulina MYADYOLKA More >>
New on the site
17 September 2018
New online exhibition of documents, Nation-State Formation in Belarus in 1918-1920s has been posted on the website More >>
Archival news
10 September 2018
The National Historical Archives of Belarus received official commendation from President of Belarus A. Lukashenko More >>
06 September 2018
The National Archives and the publishing house Belarus Segodnya signed an agreement for the creation of the web portal “Partisans of Belarus” More >>
28 August 2018
First Deputy Director of the Archives and RM Department Olga Biryukova held a meeting on issues of archives digitization More >>
28 August 2018
Professional meeting of Belarusian archivists with representatives of China’s HAOBO security company at the National Archives More >>

Разделы
Органы архивного дела и делопроизводства и система государственных архивных учреждений
Дзяржаўны кантроль у галіне архіўнай справы і справаводства
Архивное дело
Нормативная база
Архивные справочники
Фондовый каталог государственных архивов Республики Беларусь
Тематические разработки и базы данных
Генеалогия
Археография
Геральдика
Услуги
Административные процедуры
Образование
Журнал «Архивы и делопроизводство»
Каляндар знамянальных і памятных дат па гісторыі Беларусі
Становление белорусской государственности в 1918-1920-х годах
Главная Генеалогия Дворянская генеалогия

Дворянская генеалогия

Дворянская родословная кнга

Информацию о генеалогии белорусского дворянства (шляхты) можно найти в общих источниках: метрических книгах, ревизских сказках (в них дворян включали до 1816 г.), в актовых книгах гродских и земских судов Речи Посполитой, документах судебных органов Российской империи и других источниках. Кроме того, имеются специальные источники по дворянской генеалогии. Они находятся в фондах дворянских депутатских собраний (существовали в каждой губернии), а также в фондах губернских и уездных предводителей дворянства. В дворянских депутатcких собраниях осуществлялась процедура признания и утверждения шляхетских родов бывшей Речи Посполитой в дворянстве Российской империи. Материалы о каждом роде, проходившем эту процедуру, отражены в протоколах выводных комиссий, родословных книгах, делах о дворянстве рода.

Протоколы выводной комиссии составлялись по мере утверждения в дворянстве конкретных родов. Они подразделяются на выводные протоколы и протоколы о причислении. Выводной протокол составлялся при первоначальном выводе рода (признании его в дворянстве Российской империи). Он обычно содержит следующие сведения: место, откуда происходили или где проживали составители вывода; имена родоначальника и его потомков с указанием родства (в виде поколенной росписи); название и описание родового герба; документы о владении имениями, землей, о назначении на должности и другие доказательства принадлежности к шляхте. В протоколах о причислении содержатся сведения о причислении к уже признанному в дворянстве роду отдельных лиц, родившихся после даты первоначального вывода. Протоколы велись ежегодно и хранились в архивах дворянских депутатских собраний.

Родословные книги составлялись одновременно с выводными протоколами, сначала ежегодно, позднее – за несколько лет. Дворянские роды в них размещены в алфавитном порядке. Каждое родословие в них представлено в виде генеалогического древа, с изображением герба. Рядом помещалась поколенная роспись с указанием, какие документы предоставлены в доказательство дворянства. Книги велись в трех экземплярах, из которых оригинал хранился в фонде дворянского губернского собрания, одна копия – в фонде губернского правления, вторая – передавалась в архив Департамента герольдии в Санкт-Петербурге.

Дела о дворянстве рода (или отдельного лица) содержат документы о доказательстве дворянства, переписку по вопросам представления и правильного оформления этих документов, проверки доказательств, признания и утверждения в дворянстве рода в целом, а также причисления его отдельных представителей. В качестве доказательств принимались оригиналы или копии выписок из актовых и метрических книг, ревизских сказок, посемейные списки и другие документы. Обычно дела содержат копии выводных протоколов и протоколов о причислении, указов Сената, изображения гербов и генеалогических схем, другую информацию с момента подачи прошения о признании (как правило – с 1820-х гг., когда прошения стали подаваться в массовом порядке) до сведений о последних причислениях (в лучших случаях – до 1917 г.). В архиве дворянского депутатского собрания хранились все дела о дворянстве – как для утвержденных родов, так и для тех, которые не были признаны в дворянстве и перечислены в податные сословия. Второй экземпляр дел (но только для утвержденных родов) поступал в архив Департамента герольдии в Санкт-Петербурге.

Фонды дворянских депутатских собраний на территории современной Беларуси находятся:

Витебская губерния – в Национальном историческом архиве Беларуси в г.Минске (фонд 2512). Этот фонд содержит 1130 дел. Протоколы и родословные книги сохранились частично (примерно половина от их первоначального количества), дела о дворянстве родов полностью отсутствуют. Имеется также фонд канцелярии Витебского губернского предводителя дворянства ( фонд 2626). Он содержит 573 дела, в том числе избирательные списки по выборам в различные дворянские учреждения, ряд других документов.

Гродненская губерния – в Национальном историческом архиве Беларуси в г.Гродно (фонд 332). Этот фонд почти полностью утрачен. Сохранились 45 дел, включая всего 2 родословные книги за 1875 г. (на литеры Б, В, Г). Протоколы выводных комиссий и дела о дворянстве отсутствуют.

Минская губерния – в Национальном историческом архиве Беларуси в г.Минске (фонд 319). Этот фонд содержит 5351 дело, в том числе протоколы практически за все годы и дела о дворянстве около 4000 родов. Родословные книги полностью отсутствуют. Имеется также фонд канцелярии Минского губернского предводителя дворянства (фонд 320), который содержит 1002 дела, включая дворянские избирательные списки и другую информацию.

Могилевская губерния – в Национальном историческом архиве Беларуси в г.Минске (фонд 2066). Этот фонд почти полностью утрачен. Имеется только 58 дел, включая несколько протоколов выводной комиссии.

Объявления
27 сентября 2018 г.
23 октября 2018 г. БелНИИДАД проводит семинар «Хранение документов в организации: отбор документов для хранения и уничтожения» Подробнее >>
Новости сайта
05 марта 2018 г.
На сайте размещена специальная юбилейная рубрика "Становление белорусской государственности в 1918-1920-х годах" Подробнее >>
Новости отрасли
19 октября 2018 г.
17-18 октября состоялся второй этап профессионального конкурса «Лучший архивист Беларуси» Подробнее >>
19 октября 2018 г.
17-18 октября директор Департамента по архивам и делопроизводству Министерства юстиции Республики Беларусь В.И.Кураш посетил Брестскую область Подробнее >>
19 октября 2018 г.
К 125-летию народного артиста Беларуси Владимира Владомирского Белорусский государственный архив кинофотофонодокументов и TUT.BY представили очередной выпуск совместного проекта "Как это было" Подробнее >>
16 октября 2018 г.
Пабачыў свет крыніцазнаўчы дапаможнік "Помнікі права Беларусі XIV-XVI стст.: абласныя прывілеі" Подробнее >>
15 октября 2018 г.
В Зональном государственном архиве г. Кобрине с 15.10.2018 г. экспонируется выставка документов и фотодокументов «История архива в лицах» Подробнее >>